Bhupendra Patel was sworn in as new CM of Gujarat

After two days of media speculation, BJP high command has surprised everyone by placing Bhupendra Patel as the successor to Vijay Rupani. He is an MLA from Ghatlodia in Ahmedabad, has a strong support base in the Patidar community, which BJP wants on its side before the polls. He is the close confidant of  Former Gujarat CM Anandiben Patel.

On Monday, BJP MLA Bhupendra Patel was sworn in as the 17th Chief Minister of Gujarat at the Raj Bhavan. He was administered the oath of office by Governor Acharya Devvrat.

Union Home Ministers Amit Shah, Narendra Singh Tomar, Mansukh Mandaviya, Prahlad Joshi, Parshottam Rupala, Chief Ministers Shivraj Singh Chouhan and Pramod Sawant were present on the occasion.

On Sunday, the BJP Legislature Party held a meeting in the presence of central observers following the resignation of Vijay Rupani and his cabinet last Saturday.

Bhupendra Patel was unanimously elected as the new Chief Minister at this meeting. Prime Minister Modi congratulated Bhupendra Patel on his swearing-in as the new CM of Gujarat.

Related Articles

- Advertisement -

Latest Articles