No place for Axar Patel in team India’s T20 World Cup squad!

Today, BCCI General secretary Jay Shah has confirmed the 15 men squad for the T20 World Cup 2021. RCB bowler Yazhuvendra Chahal who has a brilliant season of IPL 2021 in the UAE hasn’t been picked to the final fifteen.

The trump card bowler for Delhi Capitals Axar Patel is replaced by Shardul Thakur in the final 15. He is pretty consistent and his contribution is huge for Delhi Capitals to reach into playoffs with both bat and bowl.

In the ongoing IPL, he played 11 matches and took 15 wickets with an average of 18.26 and the economy rate is just over six. It is a great economy for the T20 bowler. But this young all-rounder Axar will be with the team India as a standby player. 

As per the cricket analyst Mufaddal Vohra, Axar Patel will be the coverup of Ravindra Jadeja in the T20 World Cup. Shardul Thakur got drafted in because of Hardik Pandya’s issues with bowling.

India’s squad for ICC T20 World Cup: Virat Kohli (captain), Rohit Sharma (vice-captain), KL Rahul, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Ishan Kishan, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Rahul Chahar, Ravichandran Ashwin, Shardul Thakur, Varun Chakravarthy, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammad Shami. 

Stand-by players: Shreyas Iyer, Deepak Chahar, Axar Patel 

These young cricketers Avesh Khan, Umran Malik, Harshal Patel, Lukman Meriwala, Venkatesh Iyer, Karn Sharma, Shahbaz Ahmed and K. Gowtham will join the team bubble in Dubai and assist Team India in their preparations.

Today, new Jersey for team India has been launched. Team India has back to blue and bid adieu to retro jersey. 

Pic credit to: BCCI Indian Skipper Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma, Jadeja, Bumrah, KL Rahul look dashing in the T20 WC 2021
new jersey

Related Articles

- Advertisement -

Latest Articles