Team India retains No.1 Spot

The Indian Cricket team has retained the No 1 spot for the fifth consecutive year. India has been continuing its domination in longer formats under Virat Kohli’s captaincy since 2017.  

By conquering Gabba, India has registered a historic series win against Australia in Australia followed by England Test series win at home. These two series’ wins have a special place in the history of Indian cricket.

The Indian team which has lost their first Test matches very badly has bounced back in the rest of the matches and registered a comprehensive win against their opponents. These two series introduced heroes Ravichandran Ashwin, Rishabh Pant, Washington Sundar, Shardul Thakur, and Mohammad Siraj.

Because of these heroes only, India has registered a heroic series win against Australia and England. In both of these series, Star players didn’t perform up to their mark. With their heroics, team India has created history.

Team India head coach has shared his feeling on Twitter after India ends with the No 1 spot in ICC annual rankings. He mentioned in a tweet that he is super proud of this team.

Here is what Ravi Shastri tweeted, 

” This team has shown steely resolve & unwavering focus to be crowned No. 1. It is something the boys have earned fair & square. Rules changed midway but #TeamIndia overcame every hurdle along the way. My boys played tough cricket in tough times. Super proud of this bindass bunch”.

To win the first-ever World Test Championship, team India will take on New Zealand at Ageas Bowl, Southampton. This match will be played from 18-22 June.

Already, the BCCI has announced the team for the maiden World Test Championship and England Test series.

Related Articles

- Advertisement -

Latest Articles