Yogi Adityanath to rename 6 districts: Reports

Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath is reportedly looking at renaming the names of six districts in his State. As per national media reports, the names of Sultanpur, Aligarh, Mirzapur, Firozabad, Ghazipur, and Basti are going to be renamed. 
The move comes just months ahead of the Assembly elections, in which the BJP and the SP are going to be the biggest contenders. 

Several supporters of the name-change campaign are of the view that the Mughal-era names have to be changed to reflect the cultural history of the places. Columnist and author Harsh Gupta Madhusudan sees it as a decolonization campaign. “When British era names of some cities etc were renamed many people rightly said we must reduce the colonial influence in free India though colloquial usage remained. The same anti-colonial logic applies to Delhi Sultanate, Mughals etc (sic),” he tweets. 

Related Articles

- Advertisement -

Latest Articles